Banner

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Movie/Video Doesn't Play in PowerPoint 2007

There are many reasons why your movie file may not play. Below are some things to check. Before trying these, you may want to verify that your movie file is on the list of PowerPoint compatible file formats.

  • You sent your presentation through e-mail, and your recipient says the movies don't play. Movies files are always and are not part of your presentation. Copy the movie files into the same folder as the presentation. Then use the Package for CD feature to update the links and bundle the associated files. Or you can update the links manually. To do this, copy the movie files into the folder that contains the presentation, and then delete the movies and add them back.
  • You shared your presentation or copied it to a network file server, and the movies don't play now. Movie files are always and are not part of your presentation. Move or copy the movie files to the same folder as the presentation or to the network file server. Then use the Package for CD feature to update the links and bundle the associated files. Or you can update the links manually. To do this, copy the movie files into the folder that contains the presentation, and then delete the movies and add them back.
  • You copied your presentation to a CD, and now the movie doesn't play on a different computer. Copy the movie files to the same folder as the presentation. Then use the Package for CD feature to update the links to the movie files, and copy the presentation again to the CD.
  • You moved your movie files to a new location, and now when you run your presentation, the movie doesn't play. Movies files are always and are not part of your presentation. Copy the movie files to the same folder as the presentation. Then use the Package for CD feature to update the links and bundle the associated files. Or you can update the links manually. To do this, copy the movie files into the folder that contains the presentation, and then delete the movies and add them back.
  • You cannot find and play your movie file. If the path name of the linked movie file exceeds 128 characters, Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 cannot find and play it. Move or copy the movie file into the same folder as the presentation, and then delete the movie and add it back to update the link (path information).
  • You inserted multiple movies or sounds, but only the top movie or sound is playing. Drag the movie icons or sound icons off each other and then try to play them.
  • The movie file format is not supported in Office PowerPoint 2007. Try playing the movie outside of Office PowerPoint 2007 by using Microsoft Windows Media Player, which is part of Microsoft Windows. Start Windows Media Player and then use the File menu (you might have to maximize the window to see the File menu) to open and play your movie file in Windows Media Player. If the movie doesn't play, Windows Media Player gives you detailed error messages and a Help link that can help you troubleshoot the problem.

If the movie plays in Windows Media Player, you can insert it as a media clip in your presentation by doing the following:

  1. On the Insert tab, in the Text group, click Object.

Insert tab image

  1. In the Object type list, click Create from file, and then enter the name of the movie file or click Browse.

Note A movie that you play in Office PowerPoint 2007 by using Windows Media Player cannot have animation settings and special timings assigned to it. Instead, you play it by clicking buttons in Windows Media Player.

If Office PowerPoint 2007 won't play your movie file either in Office PowerPoint 2007 or in Windows Media Player, try creating a hyperlink or action button on your slide and linking to a program that can play the movie file.

  • Your movie file is listed as being compatible with PowerPoint, but your movie still doesn't play correctly. (See a list of PowerPoint compatible file formats.) Although your movie file may have the same file extension as one listed as being compatible, it may not play correctly if the correct version of the codec is not installed, or if the file has not been encoded in a format recognized by your version of Microsoft Windows. Encoding is the process of converting data into a stream of ones and zeros. Install the correct codec or re-encode the file.
  • Your movie is captioned or subtitled. Office PowerPoint 2007 cannot play captioned or subtitled movies. To resolve the issue, try creating a hyperlink to the movie.
  • Your movie plays as a white rectangle. The path name to the linked movie file exceeds 128 characters, and Office PowerPoint 2007 cannot find and play the movie. Move or copy the movie file into the same folder as the presentation, and then delete the movie and add it back to update the link (path information).
  • Your movie plays as a black rectangle. This often indicates incompatible hardware acceleration. Try turning down your Hardware Acceleration setting, which is found in Control Panel.

If you are using dual monitors (sometimes called multiple monitors), make sure both monitors are set to the same screen resolution in Control Panel, or try to set both monitors to a lower screen resolution.

Note If you do not see your problem listed above, you can search the PSS Knowledge Base, post your question to the Microsoft Office Discussion Groups, or find answers from other users in the PowerPoint community.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Insert a screenshot or screen clipping into PowerPoint 2010

You can quickly and easily add a screenshot to your Office file to enhance the readability or capture information without leaving the program that you are working in. This feature is available in Microsoft Excel, Outlook, PowerPoint, and Word. You can use it to take a picture of all or part of the windows open on your computer. These screenshots are easy to read in printed documents and on PowerPoint slides that you project.

Screenshots are useful for capturing snapshots of information that might change or expire, such as a breaking news story or a time-sensitive list of available flights and rates on a travel Web site. Screenshots are also helpful for copying from Web pages and other sources whose formatting might not successfully transfer into the file by any other method. Screenshots are static images. When you take a screenshot of something (for example, a Web page), and the information changes at the source, the screenshot is not updated.

When you click the Screenshot button, you can insert the whole program window or use the Screen Clipping tool to select part of a window. Only windows that have not been minimized to the taskbar can be captured.

When you choose Screen Clipping, your entire window will temporarily become opaque or “frosted over”. After you select the part of the window that you want, your selection will show through this opaqueness.

Open program windows are displayed as thumbnails in the Available Windows gallery and when you pause your pointer over a thumbnail, a tooltip pops up with the program name and document title. For example, if you are in Word, you might see Microsoft Excel - Book 1 as a minimized window that you could add to your Office file.

Insert Screenshot gallery

Note Only one screenshot at a time can be added. To add multiple screenshots, repeat steps 2 and 3 below.

  1. Click the slide that you want to add the screenshot to.
  2. On the Insert tab, in the Images group, click Screenshot.

PowerPoint Ribbon Image

  1. Do one of the following:
    • To add the whole window, click the thumbnail in the Available Windows gallery.
    • To add part of the window, click Screen Clipping, and when the pointer becomes a cross, press and hold the left mouse button to select the area of your screen that you want to capture.

If you have multiple windows open, click the window you want to clip from before clicking Screen Clipping. When you click Screen Clipping, the program you are working in is minimized and only the window behind it is available for clipping.

Tip After you add the screenshot, you can use the tools on the Picture Tools tab to edit and enhance the screenshot.

Monday, July 12, 2010

How to Insert Youtube Video into PowerPoint 2010


If you want to insert Youtube video in your PowerPoint 2010 presentation then here we tell you the method to do that, the only thing which we should mention here is that you will lost your embedded Youtube videos of your Presentation if you upload this presentation over the internet.
Anyhow read the method written below to know the process to insert Youtube video in PowerPoint 2010 presentation.

Insert Youtube Video in PowerPoint 2010

1- Simply open PowerPoint, go to File menu to create new slide and then click on Insert menu option
2- Now click on Video, it gives different options so select Video From Web Site….
3- Now, copy the code of Youtube video from Embed option from Youtube site and paste in the following window of PowerPoint and click Insert button
4- You can see the Youtube video is embedded on your PowerPoint slide and you may also set its size according to your requirement.